Home Community Winners of South Dublin County Council’s Christmas Decoration Competition 2017

Winners of South Dublin County Council’s Christmas Decoration Competition 2017

All the winners from Gaelscoil Chnoc Liamhra St Ronans N.S Gaelscoil Naoimh Padraig and St Marks C.S

The Mayor of South Dublin County Council Paul Fogarty yesterday presented the winners of the SDCC Christmas Decoration Recycling Competition with their prizes in County Hall.

Speaking at the prize giving ceremony, Mayor Gogarty said:

“It is wonderful to see so many impressive and creative Christmas decorations made out of recycled materials.

“The young people of our County are inspirational in the wide variety of recyclable materials they have used in very creative and varied ways.

“They serve to encourage everyone to look for opportunities to reuse and recycle materials in the home.”

Orla Scannell, Arts Officer said:

“The possibilities for using recycled materials for handmade inspirational decorations is endless, as can been seen by variety and breadth of entries into the recycled Christmas decoration competition this year.

“Materials have been reused, recycled and upcycled into unique pieces of artwork that anyone would be happy to have in their home”

South Dublin County Council said:

“We would like to congratulate everyone who took part in the annual competition. All the decorations created are fantastic, showing us all how we can reuse materials to create beautiful decorations.”

For more information on how you can prevent waste and how to reduce, reuse and recycle this Christmas season visit http://www.sdcc.ie/services/recycling-and-waste/christmas-2017

The prize winners are:-

Overall winner

Caoilfhionn Ni Bhriain
Gaelscoil Naoimh Padraig

Special commendation

Abbie Harris,Kayla Shannon,Freya Kenny
St Ronans N.S

Under 12  category

1st Prize
Orlaith Dunne
Gaelscoil Naoimh Padraig

2nd  Prize
Carmen Luong, Emily Danci
St Ronans N.S

3rd  Prize
Clodagh Ni Chonbhui
Gaelscoil Chnoc Liamhra

Over 12 category

1st Prize
Siofra Nic Ramenna, Caoilfhionn Ni Sherraigh
Gaelscoil Naoimh Padraig

2nd  Prize
Katherine Amusan
St Marks C.S