Home Entertainment Song of the Year shortlist for Choice Music Awards

Song of the Year shortlist for Choice Music Awards


The Choice Music Awards, in association with IMRO and IRMA have released their short list of songs for the Song of Year award. Each year since its inception, the Irish Song of the Year encourages people to discover new Irish artists by shining a spotlight on the very best songs of the past year. The platform for homegrown Irish music has grown since the Irish Song of the Year Prize was established in 2011, and competition is always fierce.

The list includes:

  • The Academic – Different
  • All Tvvins – Thank You
  • The Coronas – How This Goes
  • Daithi – Mary Keanes Introduction
  • Fight Like Apes – Pretty Keen On Centrefolds
  • Hozier – Someone New
  • Gavin James – Bitter Pill
  • Kodaline – Ready
  • Otherkin – Ay Ay
  • Pleasure Beach – Go

The overall winner will be announced at the Choice Music Prize Event at Vicar Street on Thursday March 3rd and will also be broadcast live on Today FM. The competition is open to public vote and you can vote here. You can vote once a day until voting closes at midnight on February 28th.

The album shortlist was released in earlier in January and the list included:

  • Girl Band – Holding Hands With Jamie (Rough Trade)
    Gavin James – Bitter Pill (Warner Music Ireland)
    Le Galaxie – Le Club (Universal Music Ireland)
    Roisin Murphy – Hairless Toys (Play It Again Sam)
    Villagers – Darling Arithmetic (Domino)
    Ham Sandwich – Stories From The Surface (Route 109A Records)
    Jape – This Chemical Sea (Faction Recods)
    Colm Mac Con Iomaire – And Now The Weather (Plateau)
    SOAK – Before We Forgot How To Dream (Rough Trade)
    Young Wonder – Birth (Feel Good Lost)