Home Latest news around tallaght and Ireland Official opening of Scoil Aoife Community National School in Citywest

Official opening of Scoil Aoife Community National School in Citywest

Minister and Dublin South West TD with Teacher Aisling Mahony and her class at the official opening of Scoil Aoife Community National School

The official opening ceremony for Scoil Aoife Community National School took place this morning as pupils, teachers and parents were joined by Education Minister Richard Bruton and Minister for Children Katherine Zappone.

Scoil Aoife CNS (Community National School) first opened its doors for the in September 2014.

Based in Tallaght, and under the patronage of Dublin & Dún Laoghaire ETB, it is a state operated multi-denominational, co-educational primary school which provides high quality primary education and personal life skills development for children of all beliefs and none.

Katherine Zappone with Teacher Eimear Fleming and Yvonne Brown

What is a Community School? A Community National School is just as it says, founded in local communities, these schools are child-centred, inclusive and multi belief.

The first Community National Schools, Scoil Ghráinne and Scoil Choilm,  were opened in 2008 in Phibblestown and Porterstown in Co. Dublin.

Since then several other Community National Schools have opened their doors; Scoil Aoife in 2014, as well as Ard Rí CNS in Navan, Piper’s Hill CNS in Naas, Citywest & Saggart CNS in Citywest and Lucan CNS in Lucan.

Speaking at todays event Minister Zappone said; “it is a big day not just for children, parents and staff but for the entire community of Citywest.”

Further information on Community National Schools can be found at www.cns.ie