Glenasmole NS among the winners of SDCC Christmas Decoration Competition 2016


Last Thursday (15th December) the Mayor of South Dublin County, Cllr Gus O’Connell presented the winners of the SDCC Christmas Decoration Recycling Competition with their prizes in County Hall and the 5th and 6th class children of Glenasmole mole National School did Tallaght proud by picking up an award.

Mayor O’Connell said:

“The high quality and standard of entries for the competition this year is amazing, there are well over 100 entries and each one of them is unique.

“Each entrant has given their own interpretation of Christmas through the creative process when making their decoration.

“The magnificent display here in County Hall is bringing Christmas spirit and cheer to everyone who sees it as well as helping the environment.”

Glenasmole NS 5th & 6th Class –, Rebecca McHugh Revins, Emma Healy, Jack Mahon & Max Jones
Glenasmole NS 5th & 6th Class –, Rebecca McHugh Revins, Emma Healy, Jack Mahon & Max Jones

“The judging gets more difficult each year with some many entries that have lovely shapes and forms, from small scale to large and all beautifully finished, said Orla Scannell Officer.

“The aspects taken into consideration when judging is a combination of the artistic representation, the variety of materials reused, the re-imagination of what those materials could be and the finished form.

“During the festive period Mayor O’Connell asks you to check out to gather some wonderful tips on food waste prevention and how to reuse items e.g. how to wrap your Christmas gifts in a new, different and environmentally friendly way.”

“South Dublin County Council would like to congratulate everyone who took part in the annual competition.

“All the decorations created are fantastic, showing us all how we can reuse materials to create beautiful decorations.”

For more information on how you can prevent waste and how to reduce, reuse and recycle this Christmas season visit

The prize winners:

Placement                           Name of Winner                                 School                                   Area

Special commendation       5th & 6th Class                                        Glenasmole NS                      Tallaght

Special commendation       Maja Wroblewska                                   St Ronans NS                        Clondalkin

Under 10’s 1st prize             Eimhin Breathnach                                Gaelscoil Niamh Padraig          Lucan

Under 10’s 2nd prize           Beatrice Gherca                                       St Ronans NS                       Clondalkin

Under 10’s 2nd prize           Shanessa Diego                                        Loreto PS                          Rathfarnham

Under 10’s 3rd prize            Molly Ní Chlomáin                                 Gaelscoil Naomh Padraig            Lucan

Age 11-18’s 1st prize             Roberta Coloci & Debora Cirpaci         St Ronans NS                       Clondalkin

Age 11-18’s 2nd prize           Cathy Ní Choscaire                                 Gaelscoil Naomh Pádraig          Lucan

Age 11-18’s 3rd prize            Abby, Kayla & Abbie                               St Ronans NS                       Clondalkin