Home Sport Dublin put Mayo to the sword at the second attempt!

Dublin put Mayo to the sword at the second attempt!


Three goals in the final quarter at HQ saw Dublin come from behind and book a place in the All Ireland Final where they will face the old enemy Kerry on September 20th

Mayo led by  four points with 55 minutes gone and the Dubs looked as if they were staring semi final in the face for the second year in a row.

But Jim Gavin sprung the trio of Micheal Dara MacAuley, Kevin McManamon and Alan Brogan from the bench and it was there impact that changed the game and won the day for the Dubs.

Diurmuid Connolly started the game and it looked like the strains of fighting the three tiered GAA appeal system took a toll on the St Vincent’s man and as a result he did not have the impact that we have come to expect.

The first half of the game was very tight and it was deadlocked at 0-10 to 0-10 at half time before the Mayo men rallied, they may talk of curses in Mayo but their failure in this game was not to protect the 4 point lead they had built up in the second half.

The first Dublin goal came from Bernard Brogan who got on the end of a Fenton strike that looked to be heading wide, Brogan also had an input in the second goal when his attempted fisted point dropped short and Philly McMahon was there to bundle it over the line. And it was left to the master goalscorer Kevin McManamon to kill off the game with a trademark goal in the 67th minute.

The hunt for tickets has already begun and lets hope that the decider is as exciting as the last two championship meeting between the two sides in 2011 and 2013 and that the outcome is the same.

Dublin: S Cluxton; P McMahon (1-02), R O’Carroll, J Cooper; J McCarthy (0-01), C O’Sullivan, J McCaffrey; B Fenton (0-01), D Bastick; P Flynn, D Connolly, C Kilkenny (0-02); B Brogan (1-01), P Andrews (0-05), D Rock (0-02, 0-02f).

Subs: MD Macauley for Bastick, M Fitzsimons for Cooper, A Brogan for Flynn, K McManamon (1-01) for Rock, E Lowndes for Connolly, J Small for B Brogan.

Mayo: R Hennelly; K Higgins, G Cafferkey, C Barrett; D Vaughan, L Keegan (0-01), C Boyle; T Parsons, B Moran (0-01); D O’Connor (0-02), S O’Shea, K McLoughlin (0-01); J Doherty, C O’Connor (1-06, 0-05f), A O’Shea (0-01).

Subs: P Durcan (0-01) for Vaughan, A Moran (0-01, 0-01f) for S O’Shea (black card), D Drake for Boyle, S Coen for Parsons, M Ronaldson for McLoughlin.

Referee: E Kinsella (Laois).