Home Sport Boden are Ireland’s best after Paddy’s Day massacre

Boden are Ireland’s best after Paddy’s Day massacre


Ballyboden St Enda’s players are waking up this morning as the new All Ireland football club champions after their stunning victory over Castlebar Mitchels in Croke Park saw them land the title for the first time in their history.

The local club demolished their Mayo opponents by 13-points in front of a crowd of 31,000. Unbelievably they actually came into the game as underdogs with the bookies!

As is so often the case with teams from Mayo in finals, Mitchels made a horrendous start conceding two goals in the opening quarter which probably killed them off so early in the contest.

Colm Basquel and Andrew Kerin were the goal scoring heroes and their strikes gave Boden a foothold on the game that they never looked like relinquishing as they raced into a nine point lead with just 20 minutes played.

Castlebar kicked a few shocking wides as their players to a man seemed to accept their goose was cooked and they were about to pass into history along with all the other gutless Mayo sides who’d rolled over at Croke Park in big games.

The second half was but a formality as Boden keep the scoreboard ticking over and Mitchels continued their rabbit in the headlights impressions.

Ballyboden corner back Bob Dwan picked up the Man of the Match award for a performance that oozed class. Not only did he do an excellent marking job on Mitchel’s Richie Feeney he also contributed at the other end with three well taken points. Boden had impressive performers all over the pitch with Shane Clayton and Colm Basquel joining Dwan as particularly standing out.

Six different Boden players scored in the second half and if they had been just a little more ruthless they probably could have got have got a couple of more goals as well.

Speaking after the game Michael Darragh Macauley, who had to come off with an injury after 35 minutes, acknowledged the amazing team spirit that had carried Boden to win this historic first All Ireland Club title:

“There’s no superstars in this team. The backs were amazing today, Shane Clayton was unbelievable. Bob Dwan was getting lost up in the full forwards, knocking points over. You can pick them all over the pitch, Robbie McDaid, Nelson, solid as a rock the whole championship, just one of those days when balls were going over the bar that mightn’t go over on another day and probably the opposite for Castlebar.”

BALLYBODEN: P Durcan; S Clayton; S Hiney, B Dwan; S O’Connor, D Nelson, S Durkin; A Waters, MD Macauley; D O’Reilly, C Basquel, R McDaid; R Basquel, C Keaney, A Kerin. Subs: S Lambert for Macauley (35), S Malony for R Basquel (60), D Davey for O’Reilly (60), D McCabe for Waters (61), S Gibbons for McDaid (63)